Last year I wanted to do many things with my health. Some things I accomplished others I did not. Was I successful, well that depends.

The year threw some interesting curves at me and I believe I adapted to them quite well. This year will be different! I have set no goals for the year and have set more long term plans. While I am striving to get better each time I go to workout. I will be going to incremently improve instead of trying for the big gain. I know I have the ability to “lift big” however this does me no good if I am constantly getting injured and .have to start the process all over again.

I needed to be more intelligent on my programming. Why was I getting injured? Why was I sore more often then when I started? I had to review what I did when I started and that was more basic training and work on my mobility. When I started I could not squat to proper depth, lift anything with weight without having my back bent and list went on. Improve came when I did those simple things, so why was I complicating things?

Lately I have focused mobility and the changes in how I feel have been great. Shoulder and knees pain have decreased to managable levels and somehow the PRs have started to increase.

The plan for this year is for a gradual increase and to work some skills that I lack to move up in the standings in the Crossfit Open. I have not finished in the top half of the my age group since the first Open and that was due to the small field. I expect this year that there will be close to 2000 competitors just in my age group (55-59). This years Open will start February 27 and run the usual 5 weeks.

Should be fun and good luck to all the people who enter and compete!

