Today is Thanksgiving in Canada. It is a time for family and friends to get together and celebrate the wonderful harvest that the year has brought to us.

That harvest can mean many things to different people. The farmer thinks of the food he has produced, a new mother may think of the child that was welcomed, as for me, I am a practical person.

I think that every day that I wake up is great and I am thankful that I get to spend that day with my wife. I have told her that she inspires me to do things that at times I would not think of doing. She has been through two complete hip replacements (left and right) and one revision (left) and still manages to do things without complaining, alright she does but not that badly, and do them without using a cane, walker or wheelchair. In fact if you saw her having a coffee or waiting in line for something you would not even know she had the surgery. It is her attitude of “I got these hips so that I can be normal”  to do things that before I could not even think of doing. Walking was difficult for her before and now she tries to make it to our Crossfit gym as many times as possible, that is if work does not get in the way. She makes it not possible for me to say I am not feeling great so I think I will pass on going to the gym. If she can fight through the pain, then so can I, and trust me when I say there are times when my knees, Achilles tendons, shoulders and back have made me wonder what the hell I am doing.

This Thanksgiving, our neighbours decided to invite us over for dinner along with George, who lives by himself with his dogs, also from down the road. It was nice to have a meal with friends, as the five of us are all true empty nesters and we would usually have Thanksgiving by ourselves. This was also a perfect time to get all the preserves we made over the season and had an overabundance of to them.

This Thanksgiving like most others, I am thankful that I have people in my life that are not selfish or self center, that care about others and do things that make me want to be better. This includes the people at the gym who make sure that we take care to do things correctly, people at work who want us to succeed, family that are miles aways who call to see how things are going even when they are swamped with the family and circle of friends.

All I can say is that I have a lot to be thankful for and I don’t want it to change.

