The first week of my W/G free world has passed. Has there been any change? The answer so far has been a resounding YES! I have dropped 4 pounds one week, blood pressure has dropped to closer to a “normal” level, I have not had a real hunger craving for food and I bet my blood sugar levels have dropped and the good HDL has improved. Another positive is the increase in endurance that has shown up, usually I am drained during a workout pretty quickly and I have been working to improve that part of my fitness regimen. Whether this is due to the endurance program I adapted or the W/G free diet or a combination of both, I am not sure. The key point is that I am getting further into the AMRAP’s before really sucking for air.

Yesterday and today were good examples of that change. Yesterday was an endurance day along with the usual strength component, simple push presses with 80 pounds 5 sets of 5, then on the rower for 10 rounds of 300M, I should have done some running but with hurricane strength winds plaguing the city all day it was safer to do the rowing. What I noticed was that the 300M did not feel like it going to kill me. I managed to do the first 5 rounds fairly effortlessly and even though I was going at a pace that would have beaten my previous best I did not feel like I was going to die. The next 5 were a bit different and by the time I finished the ten, I was breathing pretty heavily just not like I would have been 2 months ago when I would have died after one rep at 300M.

Then today’s workout was two 10 minute AMRAP’s set one was 50 double unders and 25 push presses at 75 pounds. I have not mastered double unders, my PR is 2 in a row, so I did the 3 to 1 ratio for singles. Today was just a bad day for skipping as I could not string together a good set, the longest was 69, and I have done 3 sets of 150 during a workout unbroken. I don’t know what happened as I had some poor co-ordination for these today. Then right after that WOD it was another 10 minute AMRAP of 10 overhead walking lunges I used a 25 lb plate for this and 30 Ab-Mat situps. These would have caused some serious issues 4 months ago especially the second WOD no matter what it would have been. Not this time, WOD one, I completed 2 rounds and 2 reps – WOD two I managed 4 rounds + 2 reps and I felt really good throughout the workout, yes I had a good sweat on but no serious issues if I had done this 4 months ago.  I will keep following this W/G free plan and see where it takes me.

It has been good so far…

Measurements for the record – Waist 40 inches (no change) – Weight 215.2 (a loss of 4.8lbs) – BP 129/81  – Heart rate resting 55 I did not have the BMI and Water percentages available and will have them next week.

 

