From what I have just read in “Wheat Belly” it seems that I have found the culprit for many of my ills. At least that is what is being said in the book. My intake of wheat or gluten is what has caused me to gain weight, indulge in food binges, have trouble concentrating, lack of stamina, poor sleeping habits, have man boobs, etc., etc.

The information in this book scary in that studies have shown that wheat or gluten has the same effect on the brain as morphine and when eliminated has the same withdrawal effects of  some who is an addict. It is also an appetite stimulant. To study this a study was done at U of South Carolina with normal people, half given a medication that is opiate blocking and the other a placebo the ones taking the opiate blocker reduced their caloric intake by 400 calories per day. If this is case then we need to  rethink what we are harvesting and calling a “healthy” grain. The book does mention that having a sedentary lifestyle and eating fast food will not help.

What is really scary from reading it is the number of items in our regular diet that have wheat or gluten of some form included as an ingredient. Coloring for caramel flavouring used in any number of soft drinks, beer (of course), yoghurt, chips, dips, mustard, ketchup, filler in prescription drugs and vitamins, the list is enormous. Now you ask what can be done to avoid some of the most basic items we have in our fridges, cupboards and medicine cabinets? If you ask me, I would say, “I don’t know”. I guess what a person needs to do is be more conscious of what they put in their bodies and do the best you can.

It does make for some interesting reading. I would say read it and make your own assessment and if you feel ambitious eliminate wheat and gluten from your diet and see what happens. What have you got to lose, except your wheat belly.

My wife is starting to think about doing this elimination of wheat/gluten from our diet and I know at some point in the near future, probably this week, will be doing this. I have told her as I mentioned in the last post that I will start doing this once everything has been cleared out of the cupboards, freezer and fridge that has any gluten or wheat in it.

