Yes, I admit it. Bread is my crack. I mean that literally as I love bread like an addict craves crack.

This month there a number of people at my gym that are embarking on a Paleo Challenge for 30 days. From September 1 -30 they will be divided in to two teams with the winners receiving a trophy and cash for a celebration night. I decided not the enter this as I had a number fo things to clear up before I was ready to take this on.

While doing some shopping at Costco for non food items(yes it can be done) I came across a book that I heard and read about, “Wheat Belly” by William Davis MD. In it, he states that we have changed wheat so much in the last 50 years that it has caused a number of health issues.

The genetically modified wheat of today bears no resemblance to the wheat of 10,000 years ago.  Back then it had 14 chromosomes and today with modifications it has over 42 and we have done all this modification without testing any of these changes to see how they will affect people or animals. This has led to dramatic increases Autism, diabetes, ADHD, and obesity.

I have been reading this book this weekend and some of the information sounds very much like the Paleo Diet but with some tweaks and modifications. There are some diary and alcohol items as long as they do not have wheat included and yes some diary does have wheat derivatives – check the ingredient labels if it says it has a starch of any type it more than likely is made from wheat.

I am going to do a bit more reading on this, but this might be worth a try once the fridge is emptied. That may take a week or two as no matter what anyone says I will not throw out good food just to go on experimental diet.

It will also give me time to perfect some recipes as I have all the ingredients to make bread substitutions, like flaxseed wraps or foccaccias.

