I had the best start to my day today. First, my doctor said I lost 5 pounds from the last visit, even though I am actually up 7 pounds from my pre-Christmas body massacre of scarfing everything that had sugar, alcohol plus anything bad that I have avoided in large quantities over the last 4-6 months. Second, he said while my BP was up slightly I do not have to go on any meds as he figures the target weight goal of 195 will bring the it in line. And third and most importantly, I had someone let me know that I have inspired them to do something about exercising.

Monica W, you have started my year off fantastically. I felt great all day because of that and it got me to thinking, what should I do to honour that lofty praise. I mentioned it to other people at work about how humble it made me feel. Three people at work told me that they are joining our gym’s (box) boot camp program because of what I have done in the last year.

So, the only thing I could think of was to dedicate the workout I did last night to Monica W. I have worked hard to get where I am fitness wise and I am not where I want to be as I have set a goal of making it to the Crossfit Games as a competitor not a spectator. If I have inspired someone because of what I have accomplished now, how many could I inspire when I make it?

After going through tonight’s workout that took me 25 minutes, I thought about what I could really do and the only thing I could think of was to work even harder to reach my goal. While my muscles are recovering from the aches I have put them through and I have decided to eat a better diet more often, I do not feel so bad. My aches will go away (eventually I hope) but what I have done will last for a long time.

