Greg from my Crossfit location Heat #3

The Atlantic Hopper has come and gone for another year and I am so happy that I participated in it. I use the word participated loosely as I was soundly beaten in this. Not by other competitors but by the actual workout that was randomly selected by two cute little 8-year-old girls (who knew that they were from the Addams Family). It was probably the only time they could get back at all the adults in their short little life.

With the temperature going to reach 34C/93F without the humidex/heat index included, the day felt like it was in the mid 40’s/110F when everything was starting. I was in heat 10 that started at 1pm so mid day heat here I come.

It was so hot he evaporated

The events for the day were in this order – 800M run, 50 Air squats, 30 Hang Power Cleans, 45 Sit ups, 21 Thrusters and there was an approximate time limit of 15 minutes to complete. I think after they pulled the 800M they lost all their likability, then they pulled hang power clean ball , not bad, they recovered a bit back, then the 45 sit ups came out and everyone was happy. So far, so good, it’s not that bad, then the 50 air squats came out making everyone groan and wouldn’t you know it someone yells out thrusters and they pull out the 21 thrusters ball. I think that at that point if someone had a weapon of some sort the little monsters would have dead. As it was they just walked away after being thanked, went back to their lemonade stand and smiled at everyone just like professional torture person or whatever they are called. How do little kids get to be so mean, must be the video games they play.

After all the hoopla and commotion and getting things set up, the day began.

Atlantic Hopper 2011

The first heat set the tone for the day for both competitors and supporters. As this was my first experience at a Crossfit event, it was quite the experience. I had seen the history of crossfit video that Reebok did for the 2011 Games that are happening this week in L.A. and it was exactly like that. Everyone cheers for everyone no matter what skill level or age. The person who is the last one finishing has all the crowd behind them cheering and screaming at them to help them complete the workout, no one leaves until the last person has finished.  I love that.
The competitors were hardcore fitness freaks, two 5 month pregnant women (and they kicked ass) to a 61 old lady with rheumatoid arthritis who has lost 6 dress sizes since she started doing this. Me, I was either the second or third oldest competitor and probably have been doing this the least amount of time. Most have around two or more years experience with these movements.

Heat # 1

I think I did pretty good as I completed the workout in just over 15 minutes at 15:06. I had members from our gym down for support and they were pretty loud as I was told later by my wife. apparently I must have looked like death warmed over near the end as heard nothing or saw anything except that bar. My legs are still sore and that is over 24 hours ago. But I feel great and would do it again. I know that the Ben, Nick, Maddie and Michelle are feeling bad that they did not enter since they came for support. Greg, Sherri and myself were the only ones who entered from our gym so we have some bragging rights for a day, if that. The construction that is on my road to the games is going to get repaired many times as I continue striving for my goal. It starts tomorrow as I saw workout for Monday and my legs are screaming at the thought of doing wall balls and more squats, arrrgggg!!!
The next post may be from the hospital… not!!!
