I was thinking of my loss of weight and how I managed to lose a lot when I was living in India. I ate really good and strangely I ate a lot. If I was not working I was usually shopping or eating. I had some co-workers invite me to their house for dinner and they served this dish with some banana fritters, rice and vegetable dish. It was so tasty that I asked for the recipe and still cook it. I also grabbed an Indian wok to do this in. It is similar to a chinese wok but is made of heavy iron, thick and round-bottomed.

Prep time – 40 mins

Cooking time – 30 mins

Ingredients:

Chicken 1 kg cut into 8/10 pieces

Coriander leaves – 2 tbsp

Coriander seeds, pounded – 1 tsp

Garam Masala – 2 tsp

Garlic Paste – 4 tsp

Ginger, chopped – 3 tbsp

Green Chillies – just slit – 4

Dried Fenugreek leaves – 1 tbsp

Oil – 1/3 cup

Red Chillies, whole then pounded – 8

Salt to taste

Tomatoes, chopped – 1 kg

What to do:

Heat oil in wok. Saute garlic until brown. Add the pounded red chillies and the freshly pounded coriander seeds and stir for  few seconds. Add the tomatoes and bring to a boil. Add half the coriander leaves and all the ginger, slit green chillies and salt. Simmer for 5 minutes

Add the chicken and simmer, stirring occasionally till the gravy (liquid sauce) thickens and the chicken is tender.

Once the fat surfaces, stir in the garam masala and the fenugreek. Cook for a few minutes more.

Garnish with coriander and serve with naan bread.

