This weekend I was prepping food for the coming weeks as I don’t have much time during the week to do it and I thought of some Italian food since I have not touched pasta for at least 2-3 months. After todays workout, my eyes were burning from the sweat and it made me think of the first time I did this recipe – I did it on my BBQ. Needless to say at one point I got smoke in my eyes and were they sore for a while.

What you will need:

A large high-sided pan preferably something at least 14 inches around.

In a pot, start the salted water for the penne and cook as directed on package or as you like it.

Ingredients:

sea salt and freshly ground pepper

6 medium green and yellow zucchini

4 large free range egg yolks

1/2 cup of heavy cream

approximately 2 cups of freshly grated Parmesan Cheese

olive oil

12 thick slices of pancetta or bacon, cut into chunky pieces

Putting it together:

cut and quarter the zucchini lengthwise and cut out any fluffy middle bits – cut zucchini on angle to match penne in size and shape

To make creamy carbonara sauce, put egg yolks into a bowl, add the cream and half the Parmesan Cheese and mix together with a fork. Season lightly and put aside.

Heat a large (14″) pan, add a good splash of olive oil

Fry the pancetta in olive oil until dark brown and crisp. Add the zucchini slices and 2 big pinches of black pepper. You can add more if you do not think there is enough pasta. Stir and make sure the zucchini is covered in the bacon oil for additional flavour and fry until they become soft and lightly golden.

When pasta is cooked, drain it and save a bit of the cooking sauce.

Immediately toss the pasta in the pan with the zucchini, bacon and the lovely flavours.

Remove from heat and add some cooking liquid and the creamy sauce.

Stir together quickly – no more cooking or the eggs will scramble.

While your tossing the pasta and sauce, sprinkle in the rest of the Parmesan. Add cooking liquid till you get a nice creamy and shiny sauce.

Check seasoning and serve immediately.

