What a day today. Our first bonus point benchmark WOD and it was Fight Gone Bad a.k.a. FGB. Three rounds of all out torture for every muscle group. Everyone has a friendly dislike for this one. While we don’t like doing it, it sets good benchmarks for how you are progressing as it does not change unless it is the five round absolute killer, I have only done the 3 round version and that takes it toll on me, five rounds and I will be getting Tushar to bring the defibrillator to the gym.

The ladies had only two on their Paleo Team show up for this challenge, a bit disappointing. The men, being the good sports we are, let them use two not involved in the challenge to count. The final count was that the men lost the challenge, however all the guys had new PR’s and gathered extra bucks for the team.

Personally, after I was able to get my head clear and breathing back to a normal rate, I did fantastic if I do say so myself. The first and only time I did FGB I scaled down the prescribed weights. I did this one almost exactly 5 months ago and used a 10lb medball, a bare bar for the SDHP, step ups and a 60lb push press. This time I did it completely as Rx’d for men, a 20lb medball, 75lb for SDHP and Push Press and best of all I did the 20″ box jumps even after the wall balls. You dont know how happy I am at accomplishing that, I am almost giddy with excitement. The funny thing is I know I can do better and I see another PR coming up the next time we do FGB.

I also promised Nick B that I would post a nice BBQ sauce that fits the Paleo rules. Now with the weekend coming up this is the perfect day to post and because I am so happy with my box jumps I am going to post two. One North American style BBQ and one South American style BBQ marinade and sauce.

North American style sticky BBQ marinade and sauce.

1/4 cup of blue agave syrup (this is a cactus syrup not refined)

5 tbsp of organic plum preserve (not jam) jam uses sugar and preserves are fruit reductions that use the fruits natural sugar.  I make my own at home. You can usually find it in the vegan/organic section of the Atlantic Superstore. If you cannot find it use another flavour it’s your taste buds.

2 tbsp white wine vinegar

2 tbsp tomato paste

1 tbsp of whole grain mustard

You can adjust the quantities for the amount of meat you have. This will cover a half kilo of meat. Have more meat make quantities larger.

The South American BBQ sauce is an Argentinian Chimichurri Marinade and Sauce.

1/2 cup white wine vinegar

3 tbsp olive oil

2 fresh jalapenos, seeded or not (again your taste buds)

2 garlic cloves

1tsp paprika

1 tsp sea salt ( I use fleur de sel) and yes it is on robb wolfs shopping list

1/2 tsp ground bay leaves

1 tbsp chopped frsh cilantro

1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

2 tsp chopped frsh oregano

Put vinegar, oil, jalapenos and garlic in food processor and blend until smooth and combined

Stir in the fresh herbs.

Now you can BBQ. Use both as a marinade and a sauce it does taste great.

Hope you enjoy Nick.

