It has been a while since the last post and a lot has happened during that time. Let’s get up to date with everything.

We have started a paleo challenge for the month of May at the gym between the ladies and the men. This should be interesting as there are going to be some breakdowns for some grains, ice cream, or some other banned substance and the teams will be trying to outdo each other as well. This is the one thing that I love about Crossfit, I find that everyone is competitive in some way. No one likes to lose, period!

I mean that in the best way. While we all try to win, everyone will cheer on someone who is doing a PR no matter what. if you finish the WOD all who were there high five or congratulate them for finishing as we all know what each other went through.

So while this will be a men vs. women event, all of us will be winners for doing it and we will move on to another challenge.

That being said, the women dont stand a chance.

Now, let’s get back to the goal. I have hit a small pothole in my road, I think it is shin splints, I will be visiting the Doc to make sure. I believe I got them from the week of the runs around the block and then my new found energy got the better of me as I felt a nice sharp pain in the front of the shins when doing simple things, like walking. I will have to learn how to run with less impact, losing some weight in this challenge will lessen it to an extent, but running properly will be the best cure. I need to run more on my toes or something. It will get better, I seem to be finding more things to practice, man, do I have a lot of issues.

I  mentioned that I will also post some recipes as well. Here is a marinade in keeping with the paleo challenge, try this and use the meat in a slow cooker with the marinade.

Satay Marinade:

1 tsp ginger paste

1 tsp garlic paste

1 cup of coconut cream

4 tbsp of macadamia butter – this substitutes for peanut butter

1 tbsp of wildflower honey – the hard kind of honey – it should look like a white pile of wax, you will need to cream it first

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp tumeric

1 tbsp ground coriander

Mix well and pour over your favourite meat or fish and let sit overnight. Try and not lick the bowl, I dare you.

Place meat and marinade in slow cooker with veggies of choice, I use peppers and mushrooms and pineapple chunks, for at least 4 hours.

