Sleep.

It sure feels good to get a good rest at night without too much hacking, coughing and nose blowing. My wife thinks so as well. No long dirty look saying why did you not sleep in the other room since your sick.

Nice little workout today; 10 rounds for time of 4 deadhang pullups, 4  handstand pullups, 12 GHD (glute ham developer) situps and 12 pistols (6 each leg). My time was not bad all things considered at 24:19. Thank goodness for our cards for counting as I lost track and thought I had more to do when I turned over the second last card. It felt good knowing that I was on the last round because I was reallly starting to think this was going to be a 30 Minute WOD if I have another round to do. I did not want to have more time than Kim a newbie from work. That would mean two women from my place of work are kicking my ass bad enough one of them is doing it and I have one at home as well.

Enough of this workout. It was a rather blah day today and my head does not feel like I have a ton of cotton balls shoved up there. Michelle asked for the recipe for the Chicken Handi Lazeez so here it is. I am going to be doing this on the weekend and will post a pic of what mine came out like. I had this when I was working in South India for 6 months the person who was my counterpart there brought me to his house to enjoy this delicious meal. We had mango lassis, lots of Naan bread, chicken masala, gulab jamun (not for someone on a sugar free diet as this is a like a plain timbit that has been soaking in rosewater and sugar bath) delicious yes, but too many of these and you are candidate for diabetes. Just as a FYI as you go further south in India the food gets spicier.

First the ingredient list:

2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken thighs; 2 cups of chicken stock; 4 cardamons( bulk barn); 1″ stick cinnamon; 10 cloves; 4 tsp garlic paste; 2 cloves garlic chopped, 4 tsp ginger paste; 1/3 cup of sliced onions; 5 tbs oil (use a lightly flavoured oil such as walnut or a light olive oil); 1/2 tsp yellow chilli powder.

Method:

Cut chicken in to bite size pieces and set aside

Heat oil in a deep saucepan and add chopped garlic. Saute till brown. Add the onions and saute till light brown. add the cinnamon, cloves and cardamoms and saute till the onions turn golden brown.

Add the ginger and garlic pastes, chicken, yellow chilli powder. Stir for 3-4 minutes. Add the chicken stock and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer till chicken is tender.

Remove from heat. Take out the chicken pieces from the gravy(curry). Strain the gravy into another pot through a strainer. Cook the gravy till reduced to a sauce like thickness, add the chicken pieces and cook for another minute.

This should be served with Naan bread and a side of your choice. I prefer a basmati rice, however for people on a Paleo diet some squash or sweet potatoes would add some mildness to this dish.   

Enjoy and let me know how it turns out.

