It is the final day for the vacation in Paris. I am so sad at leaving, it is a beautiful city and there are a number of places that a crossfit location would fit in. Hmmm that would not be such a bad idea if the cost of a business location was not the price of a small nations’ budget.

I do need to get back to the grindstone and get the pounds that I more than likely put on during these 10 days. The French love their bread, as it is served all the time, there is some law that states that bread must be affordable and available, and that is from the time of the revolution. The amazing thing is that you do not see many obese people in France. I actually saw less than 10 overweight people and they were probably only 20 pounds over, additionally you are always moving in Paris at least, walking is the main thing, but they have a system of bike rentals that any local can use. Just buy a pass and swipe like a paypass card and that unlocks a bike for you to take. You can take it anywhere and all you have to do it place it back at any location that has the bike racks around Paris. No need for a bus pass.

The French are always doing something active or eating and that takes up to 2 hours of your time for almost every meal. No rushing, no fast food, in fact they  hardly eat fast food. All food is eaten at bistros and lunch is usually between 12:30 and 2pm and most local businesses have limited service during those times – only the food places are busy, maybe they have figured out how to eat all types of food better than North Americans and they do not follow any diet.

Now the WODS will be in earnest as I have “lost” 10 days. I miss coming in and seeing how everyone is doing and improving. I am concerned on one thing and that is my achilles tendons always are tight and sore every morning – so I stretch and do some squats and other things to loosen up but they still get sore at the end of the day. Who knows, maybe it is just me getting older and not having the the fountain of youth for recovery that I had when I was 20-25 years old. God I hate reality.

With that I will end it today and get packing. I have so much olive oil from the Made in Provence show as well as vinagers, that salads will be very tasty for the Paleo Challenge that I think started Sunday night.

 

