What a workout on Wednesday!!!

The Seven it was called – another name for self inflicted torture. I am always amazed at the amount of stuff we do to ourselves to stay in good healthy shape. I wonder if the Paleo man/woman sat there and thought, ” hmmm, I wonder how many times I can jump up on that big rock” or “Lets see if I can pull myself up on this branch 7 times” or however many times he thought was good. No wonder his language was mostly a series of grunts and groans.

Why is that intelligent people (modern man) have to think of prehistoric ways to maintain good health? Maybe if people got out more and used less technology to do things we might have less obesity and health issues that are crippling most western economies. They even have stuff on Wii/PS3/Xbox to stay in shape and you dont even have to drop using their game console. I can’t believe that people actually get injuries like , tennis elbow, wrist, knees and shoulder issues are almost becoming common from using some of these games and you are playing 2-D character simulations!!

Sorry back to The Seven – a nice WOD of 7 rounds of seven of each of the following, Handstand Pushups, Thrusters, Knees to Elbows, Deadlifts, Burpees, Kettlebell Swings and Pullups – no time limit as your finished when you finish. Actually I was looking forward to to doing this all day as I love when we do benchmark workouts as I can check my progress next time we do the same one at a later time. I figured I would be able to do this in 35 minutes but lo, I did it in 41:16. I managed for the first time, to actually finish ahead of everyone. A couple of the guys tried the same weights as me and were 8 minutes slower, so I felt pretty good as I am usually last or close to it. Truth be told I was in a competition mode and I wanted to keep pace on my weak points and do it faster on my good points than the guys using the same weights as me and take as few breaks as possible.

What I found out was that if you keep moving, the body adjusts fairly quickly and you are not as sore due to the rest periods.

Well, I survived that and just like an addict you show up the next day to do another workout. This time I did my belated 54 birthday tire flips and called it a day as I should have done them Monday but due to the intense workout on Monday we thought it would be better to postpone to a less intensive day.

All things considered this has been a good week for getting ready for the hopper event on the 23rd.  I hope it next week is a good.

